If you own a car in Michigan, you know you have to have motor vehicle insurance in force before you get behind the wheel. You can't even register the vehicle without the coverage. There is a minimum amount mandated by the no-fault insurance law and the purpose is to ensure certain essential benefits to any victim of a motor vehicle accident.
Regardless of the law, some individuals don't get insurance. Also, in some accident cases, the amount of the benefits that are available might meet minimum requirements but be insufficient to meet the needs of the victim. But benefits are a victim's right, even if you are the person lacking coverage. That's the foundation of the no-fault system.
This nuance in the law is something that can be confusing. Not only that, but the law is subject to change. That being the case, especially if someone else's negligence caused the accident, you owe it to yourself to understand what your rights are. Consulting an experienced attorney is the way to do that.
What no-fault coverage calls for is:
- Unlimited benefits for medical or rehabilitative services
- Wage loss replacement for up to three years
- Recovery of up to $20 a day to pay for domestic services you can't perform yourself
There may be some exceptions to what's available depending on your employment situation. Again, contacting an attorney is recommended.
In addition to injury protection, minimum insurance policies are required to cover property damage – up to a maximum of $1 million.
With no-fault insurance, a victim gives up the right to sue in most instances. However, exceptions to this rule may apply if:
- The accident resulted in a victim's death or serious injury
- The crash occurs outside Michigan
- The collision was with a vehicle registered in another state
If you aren't covered one way, you should be sure your rights are protected some other way.